Tuesday, October 4, 2011 at 6:00pm until Thursday, January 26, 2012 at 9:00pm

Slovenská národná galéria, Esterházyho palác, Nám. Ľudovíta Štúra 4

The Young Visual Artists Awards program (YVAA) is an international award program for young visual artists in Central and South Eastern Europe organized by The Foundation for a Civil Society (FCS) and affiliates in ten countries in the region. Since 1990 this annual program with national exhibitions and awards, now includes residencies at the International Studio and Curatorial Program in New York. Founded in Czechoslovakia, with the Chalupecky Award, the program has gradually expanded to include a network of similar awards in the Czech Republic, Slovakia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Kosovo, Macedonia, Serbia, Slovenia, Albania, and Bulgaria.

Foundation for a Civil Society
Foundation – Centre for Contemporary Arts
Slovak National Gallery
Cordially invites you to the exhibition
international exhibition of the Young Visual Artists Awards network (

Opening: 4th October 2011 at 18 p.m.
Venue: Slovenská národná galéria, Esterházyho palác, Nám. Ľudovíta Štúra 4

Curators of the exhibition: Lucia Gavulová /SK/ & Tijana Stepanović /HU/

Exhibiting artists: Anetta Mona Chişa /RO/ & Lucia Tkáčová /SK/, Hristina Ivanoska /MKD/, Šejla Kamerić /BIH/, Eva Koťátková /CZ/, Jaroslav Kyša /SK/, Luiza Margan & Miha Presker /SLO/, Mladen Miljanovič /BIH/, Alban Muja /KS/, Vedran Perkov /HR/, Sašo Sedlaček /SLO/, Ivana Smiljanić /SRB/, Kamen Stoyanov /BG/, Samuil Stoyanov /BG/, Kateřina Šedá /CZ/, Tomáš Vaněk /CZ/, Katarina Zdjelar /BIH/, Enkelejd Zonja /ALB/

Duration: 4th October 2011– 26th February 2012

The main theme of the exhibition is the phenomenon of ‘iron applause’, the complex connotation system of which enables us to think about issues that are inextricable from the role and mission of the YVAA network. The iron applause is a slow, synchronized applause with which audiences, primarily in Central Europe and especially in Hungary, acknowledge outstanding artistic performance. The terms ‘iron curtain’ (‘eiserner Vorhang’) and ‘iron applause’ can be traced back to 18th century Germany, where all theaters were obligated to install fire-proof metal curtains. It was Winston Churchill who popularized the phrase ‘iron curtain’ as a political term in the 20th century.

The first section of the show refers to applause as an explicit expression of appreciation, providing an opportunity to explore issues of artistic success, appreciation, reward, reflection, respect and various relations within the complex system of contemporary culture. As all of the YVAA network’s member countries once belonged to the realm of Soviet influence, a.k.a. that ‘behind the Iron Curtain’, the second part of the exhibition engages with the regional character of iron applause, dealing with the complex social processes and cultural paradoxes taking place in the contemporary societies of the former ‘Soviet bloc’. Furthermore, as iron applause can also be seen as an example of synchronization of networks, this exhibition is an attempt to interpret the importance of networks, collaboration, self-organization and social interaction.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Network and Synchronization
international symposium / conference

A two-day international symposium accompanies and further elaborates on the theme of the exhibition. YVAA artists, arts organizations, arts professionals and active sponsors from the 10 countries of the program as well as other international speakers and guests will gather in Bratislava around broad concepts such as: performance and reception; infrastructures and collaboration; and admiration and influences in contemporary art. The first day of the symposium will be an internal discussion of YVAA organizers and artists and the second day will be composed of three panel discussions.

Date: 3th – 4th October 2011
Venue: Slovenská národná galéria, Esterházyho palác, Nám. Ľudovíta Štúra 4 - ATELIÉR

Monday, October 3
14-18h internal meeting of YVAA organizers
Tuesday, October 4
Session I - Presenting, documenting and historicizing contemporary art.
Marco Antonioni/US/, Alenka Gregoric/SI/, Charlotta Kotik/US/, Janka Vukmir/HR/ moderator
Recent exhibitions of YVAA artists and other international projects will be discussed in terms of critical approaches to curating and contextualizing contemporary art of the YVAA countries within the
Session II - Creating infrastructures and systems of support for contemporary art.
Juraj Carny/SK/,Viviana Checchia/IT/,Nikita Kadan/UA/, Chelsea Haines/US/ moderator
Artist collaborative projects, arts managers and organizations come together to discuss infrastructures and support systems for artists, the production and presentation of art.
Session III - Artists’ legacies, institutions, relationships and influences.
Luchezar Boyadjiev/BG/, Albert Heta/KS/, Gjorgje Jovanovik/MK/, Jiri Skala/CZ/, Eriola Pira/ US/moderator Artists are invited to speak about their affinity to and collaboration with other artists, while institutions concerned with preserving and presenting artists' ideas, practices and legacies will do soin terms of promoting artistic development and public discussion.
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Detailed information:
Organizer: The Foundation for a Civil Society, New York
Local coordination: Foundation – Centre for Contemporary Arts, Bratislava
Main partner: ERSTE Foundation
Additional support by: Central European Initiative, Ministry of Culture of Slovakia, United States Embassy in Slovakia, Slovak National Gallery, Trust for Mutual Understanding, and various other US embassies.
Awards and their organizers:
ARDHJE AWARD – TICA – Tirana, Albania;
ZVONO AWARD - Sarajevo Centre for Contemporary Arts, Bosnia and Herzegovina;
BAZA AWARD – Institute of Contemporary Art – Sofia, Bulgaria;
RADOSLAV PUTAR AWARD - Institute for Contemporary Art, SCCA Zagreb, Croatia;
JINDRICH CHALUPECKY AWARD - Jindrich Chalupecky Society, Czech Republic;
ARTIST OF TOMORROW AWARD - Kosova Art Gallery, Kosovo;
DENES AWARD - Contemporary Art Center Skopje, Macedonia;
DIMITRIJE BASICEVIC MANGELOS AWARD – Dez org and Remont Gallery, Serbia;
OSKAR CEPAN AWARD – Foundation -Centre for Contemporary Arts, Slovakia;
OHO AWARD - Zavod P.A.R.A.S.I.T.E. Gallery in Center P47, Slovenia.
Eriola Pira, YVAA Director, This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Bohdana Hrodmakova, F-CCA Director, This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.